• XTZ's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • The Tezos Dev Series: Anshit Bhardwaj (Gif Games & Tezotopia)

The Tezos Dev Series: Anshit Bhardwaj (Gif Games & Tezotopia)

Background

My name is Anshit Bhardwaj. I’m a 20 years old Blockchain and Full stack developer from India. I work as Co-founder and Lead Developer at Gif.games developing the game Tezotopia.

I originally had interest in competitive programming and web development and used to participate in hackathons regularly. It was in one of the hackathons where I got introduced to Tezos.My team won the Tezos track prize and then there was no looking back. I was fascinated by this technology and how Tezos is technologically advanced as compared to the more popular Ethereum blockchain.

I kept building on Tezos and won two more hackathons. Later I also mentored in some hackathons. I’m thankful to Tezos India for organizing the hackathons and welcoming beginner developers into Tezos.I’m also a mentor in Tezos India Fellowship 2.0, which is the flagship program by Tezos India to onboard more rising developers into Tezos.

Tezos

I assume everyone reading through this article already knows what’s so “special” about Tezos.

The thing that I like the most is its active and friendly developers community. I’m one of those few developers who got into Tezos without developing on Ethereum first.But, later when I compared both, I found that Tezos is way more developer-friendly. SmartPy, Beacon Wallet, Taquito, TzKT, Better Call Dev (and many more) are all industry-standard tools for developing on Tezos.

Gif.games & Tezotopia

The aim of Gif.games is to create a bridge between NFTs and DeFi by building fun gamified experiences on the Tezos blockchain.

Tezotopia is our virtual world of yield farming NFT lands and battle-ready units. It is a Tezos-based Real-Time Strategy (RTS) gaming platform that allows players to acquire land (Tezotops), items and resources.

Tezotops are yield farming NFTs. Players can buy, sell, and trade digital territories & build unique virtual assets in Tezotopia, and battle, earn and win prizes such as Unobtanium.

Progress Report

I’m very passionate and excited about this project. I get even more excited to see more and more people show strong interest in our idea and work.

We launched our initial platform with NFT marketplace on 9th August. On the initial sale of 230 NFTs (including 33 Tezotops), everything got sold out in less than 20 minutes. It was very exciting to see all those NFTs disappear so quickly in front of our eyes!

Then we had the listing of Unobtanium (UNO), the rarest and most valuable resource on Tezotopia, on Quipuswap. It was also very successful and soon UNO became the 8th ranked token on Quipuswap, according to TVL.

What’s coming up next

Up next, we have the IDO of GIF, the governance token of Gif.games, on 28th August. It’s happening on Rocket Launchpad. GIF token will provide benefits on staking like early access to our latest and greatest features, earn a share of our marketplace revenue, governance, and more.

The resource farming on Tezotop will get activated on 10th September. And, we have a big sale coming up on 14th. We are working our best to keep the entry barrier low and this sale is one step in that direction.

We invite anyone, Crypto enthusiast or gamer to check out our platform at tezotopia.com!