Exploring NFT Art On Tezos (Part 7) – beisik

An Introduction To The beisik Interview

If you are lucky, you may have encountered the strangely beautiful and fascinating creations of beisik (@ABelitskaja on Twitter).

Her fascinating creations feature curious, alien-like objects that have living, breathing, lifelike qualities which evoke both a sense of bewilderment and excitement.

In the 7th installment of our NFT artist series, we meet the artist behind these mysterious objects.

Thank you for doing this virtual meeting with me. Your creations are very beautiful and fascinating. The term alien comes to mind as I gaze at your strange compositions that exhibit eerily lifelike qualities.

Their movements imply some sort of unfamiliar biological or advanced mechanical function. Being somewhat of a science fiction fan, my mind tends to drift to alien life, however, you might have something entirely different in mind.

Perhaps interpretation says more about the interpreter than the artist? Regardless, your creations evoke a response that is strange, enjoyable but difficult to define. I’m curious to find out more about your artwork and the artist behind it.

Please introduce yourself, share what you are comfortable to share and tell me about your creations.

Thanks a lot for the message and interesting feedback and view on my work!

I am Sasha Belitskaja, and I am a co-founder of a Mixed Reality studio called iheartblob. I also make my own artwork under beisik brand, where I mostly explore the juxtaposition of abstract organic geometry elements and synthetic organism-like behaviours.

I have a craving for abstract geometries which do not necessarily resemble anything you have seen before, but the viewer would get a feeling of something animal-like, breathing and moving. And your description of my work as “strange, enjoyable but difficult to define” is exactly what I am after. I believe art needs to puzzle you a little, and make you wonder what it could be.

What attracted you to create NFTs? Why did you decide to mint NFTs on Tezos? What do you like most about creating NFTs on Tezos?

The art scene needed this boost for a while in the form of NFTs that brought awareness and attention to digital art specifically.

Minting on Tezos provides not only a more environmentally friendly approach to NFTs but also opens art to being affordable due to low gas fees.

I enjoy the Tezos art community a lot, as it’s incredibly supportive.

How do you envision the evolution of NFTs specifically related to art? What do you think the future will be like?

I think the future of NFT is really promising, and while the hype might cool down overtime, I think NFTs are here to stay, not only as a form of art, but also in the form of smart contracts allowing creative communities to price their work fairly.

Puzzled…that’s an excellent way to describe the response to your creations! A challenge to our conceptual understanding. It is almost impossible to label, categorize and place into a nice, neat defined mental groove.

That is precisely what I enjoy most about your work and artists that have a similar vision as you. All I can say is please keep puzzling me with your bizarre and fantastic other-worldly creations! Bravo!

Follow beisik on social media and stay up to date on her work through her solo.to link tree here.